Jury could not give Manafort a verdict – court hearings will continue
» » Jury could not give Manafort a verdict – court hearings will continue

Jury could not give Manafort a verdict – court hearings will continue

Category Long Read, News | 0

After 10 days of court hearings the jury panel, which consists of six men and six women, could not take a verdict on Paul Manafort’s case, a former adviser to Donald Trump and former political strategist of Viktor Yanukovych. The jurors have been discussing the charges against Manafort for seven hours, but did not reach an agreement in terms of punishment.

Before the end of the first day of a possible verdict discussion, the jury asked the judge what does the term “reasonable doubt” mean, since their conclusion should be based on firm conviction. The existence of “reasonable doubt” for the conviction of the defendant is unacceptable, reports Pryamyi. In addition, the jury handed a list of issues that require additional clarifications, in particular Manafort’s tax return and his accounts with overseas banks. Since the verdict was not presented to the jury, the discussion will be postponed to the next day.

According to US law, the jurors must separately consider and vote unanimously on 18 charges, including tax evasion, bank fraud and foreign accounts concealment.

In turn, Manafort’s lawyers called the issue of the jury a good sign. “In general, this is a very good day for Mr. Manafort,” said his lawyer, Kevin Downing.

Jean Byrd, partner at the law firm Arnall Golden Gregory LLP, expressed concern about the ability of the jury to make a unanimous sentence to Paul Manafort. “On the one hand, we have a serious evidence base, many documents prove the guilt of Manafort. Even his attorney said that his client provided false information to his accountant. He did not do intentionally, but he did it. On the other hand, if even 1 of 12 members of the jury decides that this case is politically motivated, then he can “hang jury” (hang jury), in other words, do not allow the jury to reach unanimous decision. If we do not have a verdict at the beginning of the next week yet, then it will be considered as a reason for worrying. It means that something is happening, something that prevents them from reaching a unanimous decision”, – reports Radio Svoboda.

It should be reminded that Paul Manafort accused of money laundering and tax evasion for 10 years of cooperation with the former Ukrainian leadership. The investigation believes that Manafort earned more than $ 60 million for being a political adviser in Ukraine, but officially declared revenues in the amount of $ 14 million during 2010-2014.

If Manafort’s guilt by all 18 allegations is proven, he will be imprisoned for 305 years.

Присяжные не смогли вынести приговор Манафорту — заседание продолжаться
» » Присяжные не смогли вынести приговор Манафорту — заседание продолжаться

Присяжные не смогли вынести приговор Манафорту — заседание продолжаться

После 10 дней судебных заседаний коллегия присяжных, состоящая из шести мужчин и шести женщин не смогла вынести приговор бывшему советнику Дональда Трампа и экс-политтехнологу Виктора Януковича Полу Манафорту. Присяжные обсуждали обвинения в адрес Манафорта течение семи часов, но так и не пришли к согласию относительно наказания.

Перед окончанием первого дня обсуждения возможного вердикта члены коллегии присяжных спросили судью о том, что означает термин «основания сомневаться», так как их вывод должен основываться на твердом убеждении. Наличие «обоснованных сомнений» для признания подсудимого виновным недопустимо, передает Прямой. Кроме этого присяжные передали судье Томасу Эллису список вопросов, требующих дополнительных разъяснения, в частности о налоговой декларации Манафорта и его счетах в иностранных банках. Поскольку приговор так и не был вынесен дискуссию присяжных перенесли на следующий день.

Согласно действующему законодательству США, Присяжные должны отдельно рассмотреть и единогласно проголосовать по 18 пунктам обвинений, что включают в себя: уклонения от налогов, банковское мошенничество и сокрытие иностранных счетов.

В свою очередь юристы Манафорта назвали вопросы со стороны присяжных хорошим знаком. «В целом это очень хороший день для господина Манафорта», — сказал его адвокат Кевин Даунинг.

Партнер юридической фирмы Arnall Golden Gregory LLP Джин Берд выразил обеспокоенность относительно способности присяжных вынести единодушный приговор Полу Манафорту. «С одной стороны, мы имеем серьезную доказательную базу, было представлено немало документов, указывающих на вину Манафорта. Даже его защитник сказал, что его клиент предоставил ложную информацию своему бухгалтеру. Он это не специально сделал, но сделал. С другой стороны, если даже 1 человек из 12 членов скамьи присяжных решит, что это дело политически мотивированным, то он может «подвесить» присяжных (hang jury), то есть не дать присяжным достичь единогласного решения. Если мы в начале следующей недели все еще будем иметь вердикта, то это основание для обвинения начать волноваться. Это будет значить, что там что-то происходит, что-то им мешает достичь единогласного решения », — цитирует Берда Радио Свобода.

Напомним, Пола Манафорта обвиняют в отмывании денег и уклонении от уплаты налогов за почти 10 лет сотрудничества с бывшим руководством Украины. Следствие считает, что за работу политического консультанта в Украине Манафорт заработал больше 60000000 долларов, однако официально он задекларировал 14 млн долл. доходов за 2010-2014 годы.

Если вину Манафорта будет доказано по всем 18 пунктам обвинения, он может получить 305 лет тюрьмы.