Video Surveillance System not to Be Used in Presidential Elections – Central Election Commission of Ukraine
» » » Video Surveillance System not to Be Used in Presidential Elections – Central Election Commission of Ukraine

Video Surveillance System not to Be Used in Presidential Elections – Central Election Commission of Ukraine

In 2019 presidential elections there will be no video observation at polling stations because it is not provided by law. It has been stated at the press conference by the deputy chairman of the Central Election Commission Yevhen Radchenko, reports RBK-Ukraine

“It is one of those questions that causes smile, and which I am already tired of answering but still answer. Such video surveillance at polling stations is not provided by any law, including the law on presidential elections. For this reason there will be no video observation,” he said.

The deputy chairman of the CEC has recalled that earlier Ukraine tried to implement such a system at a cost for about UAH 1 billion, but it turned out to be ineffective. “996 million hryvnyas was spent, more than 32 thousand software and hardware complexes were bought… The whole system was mounted, and it worked. As a result, a little over 180 thousand entries to the system took place from more than 30 thousand of such kits – it is about 7.5 times for each polling station that people went to look at. Efficiency speaks for itself,” said Yevhen Radchenko.

At the same time, Radchenko has stressed that state or local authorities, if desired or necessary, may install surveillance cameras but only for security reasons and not for voting monitoring.

На президентских выборах не будет использоваться система видеонаблюдения — ЦИК
» » На президентских выборах не будет использоваться система видеонаблюдения — ЦИК

На президентских выборах не будет использоваться система видеонаблюдения — ЦИК

На президентских выборах 2019 не будет видеонаблюдения на избирательных участках, поскольку это не предусмотрено законом. Об этом на пресс-конференции заявил заместитель председателя Центральной избирательной комиссии (ЦИК) Евгений Радченко, передает РБК-Україна.

«Один из тех вопросов, который вызывает улыбку и на который уже надоело отвечать, но отвечаю. Такие видеонаблюдения на избирательных участках никаким законом, в том числе законом о выборах президента, не предусмотрены, поэтому видеонаблюдения не будет», — сказал он.

Заместитель председателя ЦИК напомнил, что ранее в Украине пытались внедрить такую ​​систему, на что было потрачено около 1 млрд гривен, однако она оказалась неэффективной. «На это было потрачено 996 млн гривен, было куплено более 32 тыс. программно-аппаратных комплексов… Вся эта система была смонтирована, работала. В итоге из более 30 тыс. таких комплектов было осуществлено чуть более 180 тыс. заходов в систему — примерно 7,5 раз на каждый избирательный участок люди заходили посмотреть. Эффективность говорит сама за себя», — сказал Евгений Радченко.

В то же время Радченко отметил, что органы государственной власти или местного самоуправления при желании или необходимости могут устанавливать камеры наблюдения, но исключительно из соображений безопасности, а не для наблюдения за голосованием.